And so it starts

Are you a night owl? I’m cursed with a brain that wakes up when the sun goes down. It makes for all sorts of interesting ideas, thoughts, musing and decisions made in soft glow of the moon and my laptop screen. And so it was that last night, as my husband slept in our warm bed, I decided to start a year-long challenge:

The Buy Nothing Year

I’ve done it before. Kinda. 2013 was Buy Nothing New Year, where I pledged to cut waste and ditch consumerism by only buying secondhand… with some exceptions.

I got mariied that year, so of course wedding stuff had to be excluded, because planning a wedding is hard enough without any extra challenges! And we went to Brisbane, home of one of my favourite shops. I made an exception then – holiday purchases don’t count. And then there are gifts – we can’t stop buying those, can we? (although I did manage to buy most gifts secondhand).

I’m happy with how my Buy Nothing New Year went. I caved, I struggled, but I made it. And it changed my relationship with stuff, permanently. At the very least, I became very good and finding the things I wanted secondhand (this doesn’t always mean used!).

But it did feel like cheating. While I hardly set foot in shopping centres, my ebay and op shopping went through the roof. And I did have all those excuses (I mean exceptions) to fall back on. Inspired by an exceptional blog post by Blonde on a Budget, I decided to do another Buy Nothing New Year, but properly this time.

When I thought about it some more I realised that I already have everything I need to be happy. In fact, I have too much. Stuff it (pun intended), let’s just go all the way, let’s not buy anything at all. And why not declutter too!

No exceptions! Apart from food… and toilet paper… well, maybe some exceptions. But this time, the rules will be decided upfront, not changed and softened while I stand in a Brisbane shop admiring a dress on sale.

Stay tuned for a post explaining how my Buy Nothing Year will work, including all the rules and goals I’ve set for this challenge.

I hope you will join me over the next year as I try to make do with what I already have and get rid of what I don’t need. Take on your own challenge for a year, a month or a day, join in some discussion, or just read along. Either way, I hope to see you around!

x Ania

5 thoughts on “And so it starts

Leave a Reply

