Spending time

It’s day 18¬†of Buy Nothing Year with nothing bought.

I was reading these 10 ways to stop shopping and thought about what makes me stop shopping. I really think it’s a habit you have to learn. I’ve taught myself to stop and ask myself ‘How will this make my life better?” with each purchase.

But it’s easy to kid yourself. “This dress will make me so happy because none of the 40 dresses I already own flatter me like this, and it has slightly larger polka dots than the three other polka dot dresses I have.”

It’s much easier to not even let yourself find a purchase to question by not going into or near any shops. A question I ask myself then is “What could I do instead?”

SpendingTime

How many hours have you spend browsing shelves and racks, trying on clothes, or just wandering around between shops? What could you have done with that time instead? I think it’s too easy to just fall into shopping by accident.

Last week, I found myself leaving work earlier than usual. I work in the city, surrounded by shops. I walked towards the bus station and thought “Maybe I should make the most of this extra time and have a look in some shops?” I even veered towards a gift shop, full of pretty things. It didn’t take long for me to catch myself falling into the trap.

Is mindlesss shopping (even if it’s just window shopping) really ‘making the most of it’? What else would I do with that time if I walked right past all the shops? I would squeeze in some extra play time with my dog and cuddle her and my husband. I think it’s pretty obvious which would make me happier. I really enjoyed my puppy play time.

One thought on “Spending time

Leave a Reply

