There Is No Such Thing As Free Stuff

This post brilliantly explains why I am trying to extend my Buy Nothing Year to things with a $0 price tag. Why does money influence decisions so much? After the money is paid or not paid there is absolutely no difference to your long-term happiness and enjoyment of your home. So why do we forget to question whether we really want the item just because it’s free?

Minimal Millennial

TANSTAAFL

If there’s one thing I remember from high school economics, it’s that acronym. There ain’t no such thing as a free lunch.

And I think I know why it’s stuck with me for so long – it’s true.

In college, I loved getting free lanyards and water bottles and coozies (I’ve never even used a coozie) from career fairs and other campus activities.

Once I got my own apartment, I often picked up furniture that was left by dumpsters and brought it home with me. I didn’t even do anything cool with it, like my friend Meg does over on her blog – her buffet and mini chest are breathtaking.

I still have a hard time resisting the “free stuff” I find sitting out by the curb. But it’s not really free.

There is no such thing as free stuff

How we’re paying for this free stuff

Free stuff can actually be really expensive when you do the…

View original post 778 more words

Leave a Reply

