My First 50 Days Of Buy Nothing Year

Wow! 50 days have already passed since I decided to buy nothing for a year. So how am I going?

Well, I have bought nothing except for food, medication, gifts & cards, dog beds & toys, and hubby bought us a chest freezer (for dog food). All are allowed in the rules.

How did I do it? It’s been really easy actually. Here’s the secret…

Tetra_Pak_housewife_with_shopping_net,_1950s

Don’t go into any shops!

The best way to resist temptation is to avoid it in the first place. This has been easy for me because I work in the city and buy my food from markets or very small shops. While I do walk past shops every day, I have no reason to actually go into one.

I did go to a community fΓͺte a few weeks back and found myself eyeing off stall after stall of stuff. I had to remind myself to look but not touch. This actually made me spend much less time looking – time that I spent talking with my friends instead.
dd-50-days-to-make-your-life-speak-0213

Now, I did say that this was about clutter and the environment, not about money and so I will actually try to Acquire Nothing.

This is proving much more difficult. It’s amazing how easily free stuff creeps into my life even though I managed to say no to most of it! And yet, I have acquired:

  • a book
  • a CD with software on it
  • 3 jigsaw puzzles (I’m pretty sure they used to be mine before I gave them to mum, and now she’s given them to me – does this count?)
  • an ice cream container to use as a food scrap bin for the worm farm (it replaces one the dog chewed up when I left it outside one day)
  • a piece of furniture… literally a piece – it’s one part of a wall unit that had been at my parents’ house while I had the rest
  • a pen, sent to me as a ‘gift’ from a charity I’d donated to (I’ll be returning it to them)
  • a toy dinosaur that had come in a cocktail I ordered at a friend’s birthday party. I gave the dinosaur to the birthday girl but then she gifted it back (it’s my favourite dinosaur and it makes me so happy).

Perhaps it’s not the longest list, but it does show how easy it is for stuff to enter our lives unintentionally and often unnoticed. I think this might need to be the focus for the next 50 days of Buy Nothing Year.

I’d love to hear from you.

What do you think would be more difficult, giving up shipping or giving up free stuff?

6 thoughts on “My First 50 Days Of Buy Nothing Year

  1. Congratulations on doing so well in your journey so far. I agree, it’s amazing all the things we amass without meaning to. I was thinking that today when i got back from the shops and noticed the pile of papers littering the window sill in the hall. It’s usually where we keep our keys but now it seems to house coins, pens, all the coupons we get from the supermarket (90% of which are out of date because we always forget to bring them with us to the shops), pamphlets, stamps, empty gum wrappers. Drives me crazy! But everytime i clear it out, it somehow accumulates again. It’s the tough part of minimalism for me. I can not buy a dress because i know it will just sit in my wardrobe but it’s those items that dont really have a place which often go unnoticed. If you figure out any tips on how to avoid that clutter in the next 50 days I’d love to hear about it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know exactly what you mean! I think we all struggle with this. Oh and I’m not even counting rubbish as “stuff”. I realise I’ll be acquiring plenty of that! I am also doing my best to go towards zero waste and decluttering madly, so I’m sure there’ll be a few posts about that πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Would love to hear more about that! I probably won’t go cold-turkey anytime soon, but just being mindful about what goes in is already something πŸ™‚ (I’ll base it on how your year goes πŸ˜‰

        Like

Leave a Reply

