One man’s wise words and one woman’s new challenge

So my husband says to me “We should declutter”.

I laughed. “I’ve been decluttering for 2 years!”

Although when I thought about it, it’s been much longer than that, more like 5 or 6 years.

“Yeah, in dribs and drabs. We need to make a real dent in it. We need to be free”.

junk

He’s completely right. I’ve been decluttering forever and I still feel completely buried by stuff. It’s overwhelming. As soon as I get rid of one carload at a swap meet, I start throwing things in boxes and piles until I have a messy spare room and another carload of stuff to get rid of.

How does that happen? Why is decluttering a neverending process? Is decluttering like a ‘to do list’, always promising to one day be empty, but always being overwhelmingly full? Judging by the growing minimalist movement, I’d say I’m not the only one struggling with this problem.

One reason for starting Buy Nothing Year was to stop new stuff coming into my life so I could actually have less stuff. It’s not ‘less’ if you get rid of three things in a week but buy five.

Buy Nothing Year is going well, but it’s only half of the equation. It’s time to start another challenge. It’s time to get serious about decluttering. It’s time to tackle this head on.

Stay tuned for my post on my decluttering challenge!

Oh, but it needs a catchy name. If my first challenge was Buy Nothing Year, maybe this should be Give Away Everything Year? Ditch All the Things Year? Clearly, I need help naming this challenge – what would you name it?

c40e3f5e1f408f2fd11f7229aa19d94c

I’d love to hear from you. Are you decluttering? How are you doing it? What’s your best tip? What’s the hardest thing about decluttering? Or, if you’re not doing it – what’s stopping you?

7 thoughts on “One man’s wise words and one woman’s new challenge

    1. I declutter one or two items every few days and just dump them in the spare room, creating a mess instead of peace and simplicity, haha. I’m clearly doing it wrong. Time to change strategies 🙂

      Like

  1. The amount of stuff we’ve cleared out of our house the past 2 years has been enlightenig. It helped that my mother in law moved out and took stuff with her and then I was able to donate or toss the stuff she left behind if it wasnt useful to us. What’s crazy is that I often have dreams where I’m cleaning and organizing things. Lol I like doing it. Our house physically feels lighter instead of loaded with junk.

    Like

    1. Glad to hear you’re enjoying your home now! Our house still feels like a dumping ground for junk rather than a home. It definitely adds to my stress and just makes me feel like I’m living in a never-ending to do list. I can’t wait to live in a home without a single pile of junk to sort out. I’m making steady progress… so much so that I haven’t had time to write about it, but I will soon 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

