What’s so important that people are lining up for hours just to buy it?

The thing about not shopping is that I have no idea what all the fuss if about.

I walk past an Apple store to get to work. Every so often, today included, there will be a massive line in front of the store, often trailing down the street and around the corner. Today, there were even barricades and security guards.

image

What are they all waiting for?

I have no idea. And it doesn’t matter. My life won’t change just because some company has released a slightly different gadget, whether I buy it or not.

Whenever I fight my way through the crowds just to get to work I wonder why so many people are keen to buy something the instant it’s released. Why spend hours queueing for something they can buy the very next next day without all the hassle? And what’s wrong with the phone or whatever device it is they’re replacing? Probably absolutely nothing.

Seeing these people makes me feel free. I don’t need the latest fashionable device to be important, successful or cool. I can be all of those things all on my own. I’m not, but I could be.

I am comfortable the way I am, secondhand, 5-year-old phone ‘n all.

2 thoughts on “What’s so important that people are lining up for hours just to buy it?

    1. I really don’t understand why it must be bought on the day of release? If I wanted a new device I would actually wait until someone else had bought it and used it for a while then ask them for a review. It’s nice not having the stress and pressure to have to have something right now.

      Like

Leave a Reply

