This guy has only 111 possessions!

Rob Greenfield is living a nomadic, environmentally friendly life free of material bonds.

My-111-Possessions-1024x649

See  what he includes in his 111 Possessions.

I do wish he were clothed in all his photos… they will haunt me for days now… but it sure is interesting seeing what he can’t live without.

More importantly, it makes you think what he can live without and what I could and couldn’t live without.

It’s funny. I often think men have an unfair advantage when it comes to minimalism. Have you ever noticed that all the famous minimalists are men?

How many more items would a woman carry? Bras, hairbrush, makeup, sanitary items, pills, clothes and shoes for special occasions…

I guess many of the material possessions women have aren’t really necessities, but feel like they are because of society’s expectations of women to be pretty and feminine. Could we ever do without these items without being called a lesbian or butch? Could we still be successful socially and professionally? Or would we be judged?

Just a thought. What are yours?

 

7 thoughts on “This guy has only 111 possessions!

        1. That’s so nice to hear! I’ve been really struggling with prioritising my time and I’ve been questioning the value of this blog. You can probably tell from the frequency of my posts 😉 You’ve inspired me to keep going and try harder to find time to write. Thank you!

          Like

          1. I think consumerism has brainwashed us to such an extent that it’s extremely difficult to express how ridiculous it is to buy unnecessarily. All the marketing strategies are just there to trap us into a vicious circle. Keep up blogging please!!

            Like

Leave a Reply

