Why I Stopped Thrifting

So much yes! Emily Torres perfectly expresses my thoughts on op shopping (Australian for thrift shopping).

These realisations are exactly what pushed me from a Buy Nothing New challenge in 2012 to my current Buy Nothing Year.

Restricting my purchases to secondhand ones just shifted my mindless, excessive shopping from the usual shops to secondhand shops, ebay and online classifieds. I still binge shopped.

Now that I’m on a decluttering spree, guess what? Most of the stuff I mindlessly bought at op shops is going back to where it came from.

I sometimes wonder if I’m purging myself of an item for the same reason its previous owner did, and how many owners came before that. How many people have followed the same path of minimalist enlightenment by ridding themselves of pants with scratchy waistbands or chipped teapots?

I’d love to hear your thoughts. Do you fall into the same trap of secondhand shopping?

Minimal Millennial

Four our five years ago, while I was still in college, you could usually find me at Goodwill on the weekends. You could usually find me shopping the sale racks at super-cheap mall stores too.

It wasn’t that I was donating things or using the one-in/one-out strategy that keeps so many closets in check. In fact, I think it was my frequent thrifting that took my two closets from stuffed to overstuffed.

I still love thrift shops

Before I talk about the reasons why I no longer thrift, I need to clarify: I love buying secondhand. I think thrift stores are an amazing way to get things you need without contributing directly to the worlds of fast fashion and fast everything.

What I don’t love is thrifting for the sake of thrifting – it became a mindless habit for me and I didn’t really need the things I usually brought home…

View original post 479 more words

Leave a Reply

